SONG OF THE DAY Laucan – Up Tomorrow


laucan_jan17_1024_683When I came upon Laucan’s latest offering on Soundcloud this evening, I had high hopes for it, I really loved first track DMLA which I covered back in November and was hoping for more of this good stuff!!

I am happy to report that I wasn’t disappointed, it’s every bit as great, and I’m fairly confident in saying that I think this young newcomer will go far!

Since my first writings on Laucan (lor-can), I have discovered one or two more things about him: Raised in Lewes, Laurence Galpin (aka Laucan) is now signed to Radio 6’s Rob da Bank’s label, Sunday Best Recordings and, inspired by ‘folk music of increasing obscurity’, has created his very folk-inspired sound, incorporating a perfect helping of psychedelic pop in the mix.

With his debut EP, Up Tomorrow announced for release on 10th March, Laucan has just shared its title track, which was written by Laucan and produced by Andrew Phillips (of Ninja Tune’s Grasscut).  Up Tomorrow offers just over 3 minutes of escapism with its glorious layering of gentle guitars, subtle bass and illuminating vocals; its soothing effects heightened further by harmonious backing vocals, delicate strings and the sound of church bells in the distance; not forgetting the beautiful song of the Blackbird which features throughout.  This song connects us to the natural and when I listen to this, I escape into nature.  Listen above.

Laucan has a couple of 2017 shows booked so far, including one later this month at London’s The Vaults (29 January) and at Deershed Festival in the summer (21-23 July).

The Up Tomorrow EP is out 10 March via Sunday Best, whilst the single is out now.

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Alternative, Folk, Psych pop, psych-folk, Sunday Best Records and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

