SONG OF THE DAY Charles Sheffield – It’s Your Voodoo Working


Everywhere I go lately I keep hearing this song!  I first heard it in a playlist I’ve been working my way through (compiled by a man with exceptional taste), it then appeared on a new soul/funk compilation I’ve bought recently and then I heard it played on The Sunshine Makers documentary film that I wrote about on Friday.  Coupled with the fact that this is a superb listen and hasn’t left my head for a few days, I thought I’d feature it today!

Originally written and recorded by R&B singer Charles Sheffield, aka Mad Dog Sheffield, It’s Your Voodoo Working was recorded for J.D Miller at his Crowley, Louisiana studio in 1961 and was released on Nashville’s Excello Records.

Sheffield wrote and recorded no more than six songs for Excello Records, all of which failed to impact for some unknown reason and, disenchanted by the whole experience,  the blues singer/songwriter disappeared shortly after, never to record again!  The tragic thing is that, It’s Your Voodoo Working is acclaimed more now than when it came out in ’61, which I find hard to understand! How could Charles Sheffield have ever been overlooked? Lets us appreciate his fine work now and lose ourselves in his voodoo witchery…listen above.

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Blues, R&B, Soul and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

