SONG OF THE DAY Skinshape – The Bay


I love it when little pieces of a big musical jigsaw come together; one day I’ll be writing about a particular artist, band, or album and then a few days/weeks/months later, I stumble upon something else that links to a previous find, it’s great!

I came upon today’s song after spending a while going through some new releases, I found Skinshape and then searched no more!

London-based artist, Skinshape, aka Will Dorey, is a multi-instrumentalist, producer and co-founder of the reggae reissue label, Horus Records.  He is also known for playing bass in the alt-rock band, Palace, whom I’ve featured several times on the LP Blog after discovering them in 2014 (see my post here).

With his new solo project, Will Dorey is producing nostalgic music, drawing influences from Soul, Funk, Psychedelic Rock, Dub and Hip Hop, primarily from the 60’s, 70’s and 90’s.  He has just released his third and latest album, Life and Love which I have found to be a very pleasant listen, providing a cool mix of sounds which create a very chilled out atmosphere.  I like the variety of styles he has incorporated in this album and the way in which they seamlessly blend together, the balance is just right and showcases his versatility perfectly.

The Bay is one track that instantly stood out for me with its prominent snare beat, smooth 60’s vibe, shimmering summery feel and soft soothing vocals.  I was enveloped in its charismatic clutches immediately! Check it out above.

Life and Love was released on May 3rd and can be purchased/listened to on Skinshape’s Bandcamp page, here.

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Alternative, Experimental, london, Trip Hop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

