SONG OF THE DAY Ola Szmidt – Wrapped


As well as introducing myself to new music on a daily basis, I like to seek out that ‘something different.’  This is one catalyst that drives my insatiable search for new sounds and has consequently taken me in many new directions, opening my eyes to new genres and expanding my tastes as I go.

Today’s song stood out to me as both different and captivating! Consisting of nothing but beautiful layered vocals, it was evident upon first listen that this is one voice with a wealth of possibilities!  My guess from the little snippets of information out there about this artist is that Ola Szmidt is a singer-songwriter and producer from Poland who now resides in the UK.  Working alongside Kieran Hebden, aka Four Tet, Ola records and mixes her own music, incorporating a looping pedal into her creations, which is how Wrapped was crafted.

Enchantingly soothing and just as the song title suggests, Wrapped envelopes you in lush vocal harmonies that are delicately powerful and as Ola chants the words “I am the tree, waiting for the wind” I can’t help but think that given the right breeze, her branches will drift far.  Watch this space!

Listen to Wrapped above and discover more on her Facebook and Soundcloud page.

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Alternative, Ambient, Experimental, Singer Songwriter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

