SONG OF THE DAY The Tropical’s – Mwad’s


R-8514817-1463163090-1876Though I can’t tell you much about the group behind today’s groovy offering, what I can tell you is that the next (just under) three minutes will be very funky if you press play!

Founded in 1966 by Camille Wazolao (guitar), The Tropical’s were an Belgium Orchestra from Charleroi, Belgium, Consisting of  Adolphe Mputu “Aphy” (vocals), Daniel Tuzolana (vocals), Pierre Moji (guitar), Adolphe Puati (bass guitar), Joseph Lusambulu “Jeef” (drums), Philémon Bongo, L’Ombre (guitar) and Jules Marzetti (bass guitar).

Not much of their discography is dated, so I can only estimate that today’s song was issued sometime in the late 1960’s? I do know that it was pressed and released on the Barclay label, though, and that they had only a handful of singles and EP’s put out….

Mwad’s served as the B-side to their Mobembo (Adieu Mon Rêve) single which, I believe, was their third 45? Rather rare that it is, I can’t even find a copy of the A-side to share, but am glad I happened upon Mwad’s...it’s a forceful little beast! Check it out above.

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in afro funk, World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.