SONG OF THE DAY Azzie Williams – Elijah rock


I don’t know what year today’s glorious track was welcomed into the world, nor do I know anything about the artist, but I do believe that Azzie Williams only issued one 45..and what I definitely do know is that I adore Elijah Rock rather a lot!!

This wondrous piece of Gospel was issued on the Dee-Jay record label sometime in the 1960’s (I presume?). Backed with a track called Soon One Morning (which I can’t find anywhere either – surprise surprise), I’ve also just checked whether I can get hold of the 45, but there are none to be found!! Quite clearly a rare little gem, eh!! I’ve just had a close look at an online copy of the record (which I’ve included a picture of below) and a Bill Spivery is mentioned as the produce. I believe its this (songwriter) William Spivery?

Well, this track may be a lost soul-gospel nugget, but at least some diamond has uploaded online so it could be discovered and shared – even if a physical copy seems a near impossibility to find!! Listen above and enjoy!

USE ME

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.