SONG OF THE DAY Angela Luce – Verde Luna


R-25949938-1675195319-4300I love how music can effect us in so many ways and I love it when a song enchants you – such is the case with today’s little gem! Featuring on an album called Dammi Un Bacio E Ti Dico (which translates as Give Me a Kiss and I’ll Tell You), Angela Savino, a.k.a Angela Luce, recorded and released this in 1973.

Born in Naples in 1937, Angela Luce is an actress, singer and composer! Performing, acting and singing since the age of 14, her impressive repertoire of both music and film extends over several decades! She also wrote a lot of her own music and acted both on stage and screen!

I know nothing of her other music or films, for today was the first time I’d heard of Angela Luce, but when I heard her sing, I knew I’d not be forgetting her in a hurry! What a wonderful voice she has!! Verde Luna (Green Moon) demonstrates this perfectly and I love its gentle composition. Gradually building, the song opens with an impassioned and intricately strummed guitar melody, creating what is a delicious sonic carpet for which Angela Luce’s voice unravels upon. The moment generates an intensity  and when Luce’s voice comes in, her power is more than a match for the mood. It’s gorgeous and though I do not know what she is singing, I am moved nonetheless, such is the stirring power of her delivery.

I hope it has the same effect on you! Enjoy!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Folk, World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.