SONG OF THE DAY Ola V. Harper – I Wanna Weep


PrimaryIf I could sound this funky every time I want to weep, man, I’d be crying all the time!! With very little out there about this powerful powerhouse vocalist, it’s a shame this voice was only ever recorded for one 45!..at least, that’s all I can find!

Ola V. Harper recorded one single in an all-too-brief career. With a voice like this, what was she thinking??  I Wanna Weep, b/w Resisting was issued on Louisiana-based label, Jewel Records in 1968. Penned and produced by bluesman Peppermint Harris, I Wanna Weep is a pleasing slice of heady soul. Standard, in that its orientated around a jaded heart, its pained and unravelling woes are delivered in such a way that makes your own heart quiver? This lady had a beautiful, big voice and its a shame that she only had a small chance to share that! Check it out above…

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Funk, Soul and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.