SONG OF THE DAY Elvis – Run On


Gospel fit Elvis like it was tailor made for him and some of my favourite Elvis songs are ones like todays little flash of divinity !
This may be a cover, one of which has been done by many artist, many times, over many years, but nobody has done it quite like Elvis – only the original can even be compared.

Run On is, I believe, a traditional spiritual (religious folk song), for which its earliest arrangement goes back to 1943 when US Gospel quartet, The Golden Gate Quartet released on 78 – check this out at the bottom of the page. Over the years it has been covered numerous times by the likes of Bobbie Gentry (1968), Johnny Cash (2006), Odetta (1957) and Tom Jones (2010) to name a few, but the version I am sharing today steals the show as far as I’m concerned!!

I love love love Elvis’ version!! It was 1967 when Elvis Presley, The Jordanaires and The Imperials Quartet created this ball of light and I very much doubt that there is any rendition in this world that could better this one!! Enjoy!!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in cover version, gospel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.