SONG OF THE DAY Dean Blunt – Flaxen


Secondary, 9 of 9This is the only song I’ve ever heard by Dean Blunt and it may be the only one I’ll every like for all I know, but this is something else! This strange delight resides in a bewitching world of curious enchantment and each time I listen to it I feel like I have just found a brand new world! The textures, tones and dynamics feel completely otherworldly and what comes alive when you enter this curious bubble is..you!! I mean, you, me and a voyage of personal discovery!! It makes me think that if this melody could take on an earthly form, it would be just as mystified by ‘us’ as we  are ‘it’. I’m not sure what I’m really trying to say because I’m only on my third listen, but this song is so evocative and the world it takes me to is insanely deep and thought provoking!

I guess music can effect us in different way I am finding myself completely taken by this! Saint-Saëns’ Carnival of the Animals: Aquarium comes to mind which is never a bad thing!! This song is doing to me now what Aquarium did to me the first time I heard it all those years ago…it is simply magic! I love the pauses in this song too! It had me going the first time I heard it as the pause that appears early on had me thinking what an oddly short song…and then it resumes with another layer, a vocal layer, and with each pause comes a new element and with each element, another sensory treat! This little beauty inhabits a sonic world of its own and I can’t even remember how or where I heard it, but I am so glad I did!!

Released on an album in 2013 called The Redeemer, Flaxen was written and recorded by Roy Chukwuemeka Nnawuchi, a.k.a Dean Blunt. Born in London Blunt is a musician, singer-songwriter, record producer and conceptual artist best known for both his solo work and his partnership-based creations with avant-garde groups Hype Williams (featuring himself and Inga Copeland) and, more recently, Babyfather, Blue Iverson! Going it alone in 2011, he embarked on a solo career and was releasing up until 2021, but I’m not sure what else he has recorded to date?

So now is where I leave you to indulge in today’s song and go to check out more of what Dean Blunt has done! Enjoy!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in downtempo, Electronic, Experimental and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.