SONG OF THE DAY Francois de Louville – Hot Pot


R-722276-1616262519-5793Here’s one for you if you are partial to a bit of swirling dreaminess! A little rarity from 1968! First issued on the Philips label as part of the Série Parade series, I’ve not been able to find out much about the track or, indeed, the artist. It was the instrumental version (check this below) that brought me to this 45 and both versions, I have to add, are pretty groovy!!

I’m not sure if the bongo overdub is really necessary in the vocal version though and I do prefer the smoothness of the instrumental, which gives fuel to that age old saying, less is more! Still, it’s a really nice track and a relatively rare one at that! Sadly, this is the only single this artist released, but thankfully some kind soul uploaded it onto Youtube so I’m happy to be sharing this little soul nugget! Enjoy!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Jazz, Psychedelic, Soul and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SONG OF THE DAY Francois de Louville – Hot Pot

  1. banker says:

    I think I’d agree!! I feel as though the intstrumental already has a multitude of competing sounds that are well balanced, and the addition of over-reverberated vocals with another instrument knocks off that balance and makes the vocal version sound muddled and a noisy at certain points, especially compared to the smoothness of the instrumental recording. The instrumental just allows you to appreciate the articulation and cohesiveness of the song a little more, and lets that bass stand out. Either way, both versions are good!! Great rec!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do like the way you summed that up and yes, you are so right, the space that the instrumental provides allows the each layer to breathe and do its thing…but it’s good to have that contrast 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.