SONG OF THE DAY Cantina y su Combo – Santa Marta Cumbia


PrimaryWorking my way through Narcos:Mexico has proved to be every bit as good as I anticipated, but it also comes with the added bonus of finding cool music! Today’s song being one of them!

Taken from Mango Candela, a rather rare and sought after LP issued on the Phillips label, Santa Marta Cumbia explodes with rhythm and vibrancy! Accompanying eleven other tracks on this record, you will be lucky to find a copy of this for under £100!

Cantina Y Su Combo recorded this album in the late 1960’s, alongside a couple of other 45’s, but these releases seem to be the extent of their repertoire and I’ve yet to find evidence of more?? I am also struggling to find out more about the band itself which is a shame, so if anyone can add anything to this post, I’ll be very happy to discover more!

Just as the sunbeams are sinking here, this song erupts in their wake, spreading infinite sunshine! I hope you enjoy Santa Marta Cumbia……..

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Cumbia, latin world and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SONG OF THE DAY Cantina y su Combo – Santa Marta Cumbia

  1. banker says:

    Honestly, some of my favorite songs I find from shows and games, they really are a great way to discover new music. I haven’t watched Narcos:Mexico, but I did watch Narcos, and I’ve got to say, that opening theme, Tuyo, still sticks with me!! It’s great!! Same with this song, so full of energy and great horns. Great reccomendation!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Me too!! Some of the best music I’ve heard has also come from shows and films and Narcos/Narcos Mexico have been such a good source for cool music! I would def recommend Narcos Mexico too!

    Did you ever watch Breaking Bad/Better Call Saul? Have you heard Little Richard’s “Hurry Sundown”?…I got that from Better Call Saul and its an absolute beauty! In fact, I bought the record it appears on as a result!

    SONG OF THE DAY Little Richard – Hurry Sundown


    I do like that opening theme to Narcos too! So glad you liked “Santa Marta Cumbia”… I LOVE that sound too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. banker says:

    I’ll have to check Narcos Mexico out then!! And yes, I’ve watched Breaking Bad and Better Call Saul and the music choices are so good. People talk about both shows atmosphere all the time but I don’t think enough credit goes to the music in those discussions!! Hurry Sundown is incredible, and there are so many other music inclusions that are great as well. Out of Time Man by Mick Harvey, Buena Vista by The Shiffers, both shows had me looking up songs so often.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Definitely check out Narcos Mexico! I love the way they entwine actual footage and facts into the episodes and never appreciated the difference between Pablo Escobar and what came after! The birth of cartels and how many government/police officials they paid off to get what they did!! Breaking Bad and Better Call Saul are amazing and I loved both of those series soooo much!!!The music was incredible too and yes, Mick Harvey’s “Out of Time Man” is fantastic!!! I remember the opening notes to “Hurry Sundown” and how it stopped me in my tracks!! Little Richard’s gospel music is beautiful!!! I’ve got a whole Youtube playlist dedicated to Breaking Bad, Narcos and Better Call Saul!!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.