SONG OF THE DAY Free The Robots – Duluwan Song


“Listening to Free the robots is like walking through the city with blindfolded eyes. A sound so powerful it bangs against my mental images.. echoes graciously booming through the darkness. I let go of space and time until the next track kicks in. Free the Robots is more than a musical one-night-stand. It’s constructed like a journey through time…” (Bandcamp)

Another artist that has completely escaped my radar….and, it would seem, for the last near-two decades!!! Chris Alfaro, better known as Free the Robots, likes to mix up VERY cool beats, classic hip hop and traditional jazz which, from what I can gather so far, results in a very tasty sonic stew of hot sounds!

With an array of albums, EP’s and singles behind him, I’m pretty excited that I’ve all this to look forward to, for I fully intend to check out his back catalogue as soon as I can!! For those who don’t know much about him, Free the Robots apparently started out as a side project way back in 2003. At the time Chris Alfaro was also playing with different bands, DJ’ing and producing tracks for various MC’s. Known as one of the pioneering artists to come out of LA’s beat movement, he has shared stages with the lies of Prefuse 73, Flying Lotus, DJ Shadow, Afrika Bambaataa and more!!

Last week saw the release of his latest record, Datu 2, which was issued via French label, Besides Records. Listening to it for the first time (as I am now), I can safely say that this is a wholly enjoyable experience! The continuous mix of the weird and wonderful spills out through wacky samples, fascinating field recordings, delicious beats and intriguing interludes – and I love the way its centred about rhythm!!

Duluwan was the track that brought me here, so this is what I’m sharing today, but I feel it only right that I paste the rest of the album too, so that you can find below! Enjoy!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Electronic, hip hop, Instrumental, Jazz and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.