SONG OF THE DAY Yak – White Male Carnivore


Daily Dose: Yak, "White Male Carnivore"Back in 2015 the London-based trio Yak The band released an EP through Jack White’s Third Man Records and a year later their ferocious debut album was spawned.  The record was an relentless, fierce storm of gritty punk-rock with attitude, seemingly limitless energy and a bold artistic vision.

With nearly a two year gap since their 2016 debut LP,  Alas Salvation, the group followed it up with Pursuit Of Momentary Happiness and with this came 11 more tracks of pure psych-punk goodness.  First single, White Male Carnivore is heavily laden with fuzz-fuelled guitars and roaring vocals.  Vocals that howl with a half-spoken, half-sneering gruffness, slicing through the glorious thick sludge of raucous rock with effortless defeat and cutting edge. Speaking of the track the band’s Oli Burslem explained how: “I was living in Tokyo, struggling to write and a friend advised me to write from my own point of view. So I wrote this. I listed my diet, my sex and my race – among other things. The three words which made me feel the most uncomfortable were white, male and carnivore. Everything currently seems reductive and polarising. This song is a reflection of that.”

The track was also the first track to be released since the band were signed to Virgin EMI..check it out above.

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Alternative Rock, Psychedelic, Psychedelic rock, Punk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.