SONG OF THE DAY Vetiver – Strictly Rule


Forming nearly 17 years ago in San Francisco and headed by singer/songwriter Andy Cabic, Vetiver have been consistently churned out a steady flow of smooth indie folk ever since their self-titled debut in 2004.

Over the years the band have shared the bill with the likes of Vashti Bunyan, Fleet Foxes, The Shins, Fruit Bats, Devendra Banhart and Wilco; with Cabic later going on to launching his own record label in partnership with Devendra Banhart!

By their fourth album the band were signed to Sub Pop and in 2009 Tight Knit was released as the label’s debut.  Continuing with their fine blend of cosmic country/folk rock this record soon became known as of of Andy Cabic’s “most consistently engaging batch of songs to date,” with each song a cool nod to the early 70’s sound of country rock.

Tight Knit has recently been uploaded onto Bandcamp along with various other Vetiver back catalogue material( which has made it nice and easy for me to retrace their previous works- up until this evening I wasn’t familiar with the band so this allows for the perfect catch up opportunity!).  The album was recorded in Cabic’s hometown, Sacramento and was produced by longtime Vetiver Collaborater Thom Monahan.  Perfect for unravelling to, the record is the ideal remedy for any stresses and strains one could encounter, for this collection of songs are both dreamy and gentle; soothing in their wake as they wash over you like an ocean of caressing waves.  Featured track Strictly Rule demonstrates this point perfectly and right from the start it makes you feel like you have been encased in a big, warm and very reassuring hug.  Its an easy listen with a large dose of the familiar about it so even if, like me, you haven’t heard it until now, I dare say it will feel like its been waiting to be found by you as it greets you with warm, welcoming arms…..Listen above and check out the rest of the album here. 

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Alternative, Alternative Rock, Folk, folk rock, Sub Pop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SONG OF THE DAY Vetiver – Strictly Rule

  1. Lazy Plays says:

    I’m so happy you posted this! “More of This” from this album has been a favorite of mine for a long time, but I haven’t given the full album a listen yet. Worth revisiting for sure. 💖

    Like

  2. Thank you for getting in touch!
    I need to give the album a full listen too you know!
    The trouble is, music mounts up and there are never enough hours in the day!
    I will check the rest out though, I love this track!
    So happy you are happy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lazy Plays says:

    So true… We need a time machine! 😆 I’m amazed by the great variety on your blog – it seems like the hours in the day you do have are spent wisely. Thanks for spreading the good stuff! 💖

    Like

  4. Indeed! Imagine what you could do with a time machine!!! Where would you go first??
    Woodstock festival I think! I’d see Grace Slick or, ultimately, The Doors!
    Thank you so much for taking the time to check out my blog, it’s a labour of love and it does consume many an hour, but hours I’d not change for anything!
    I love that you’re appreciating it…that means so much! Yay!! 🙂
    I need to check out your blog too!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lazy Plays says:

    Oh man, hard to pick just one! I think (despite the difficulty of these two times) I would go either to 60s Jamaica or to before Sam Cooke’s death! I love traditional ska and soul music.

    Woodstock would be rad too!!

    I love your blog, especially as someone who just started & does it for love as well. Maybe we can do a collaboration at some point! 🙂

    Like

  6. Well, i’m right with you there too!!! 60’s Jamaica sounds pretty funky too!!! I’m just getting into soul more now and love some ska too!!
    I need educating more in that field though!
    Woodstock would just be so cool to see in the flesh! To experience!
    I’ve just started following your blog too, how did you start yours?
    Indeed, my blog started just because i love music sooo much and wanted a place to document and share what I find…
    A collaboration sounds very cool indeed! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lazy Plays says:

    There’s always so much to learn – I envy the reggae/ska DJ’s who seem to know everything! 😍 And of course, I envy Woodstock attendees – I wonder what they think or would’ve thought of our festivals now?

    I started on Instagram actually, where I post a song review every day! A lot of my friends aren’t as interested in the genres I’m into, so I kind of needed an outlet where I could share how I felt about some of the stuff I’m into!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Indeed, there is a limitless wealth of music out there just waiting to be discovered and I agree, it must be amazing to be DJ/crate digger and get to spend each day discovering and sharing…which in effect we are doing but to have it as a paid job!
    ..I wonder what they would’ve made of festivals now too!……

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.