SONG OF THE DAY Pedro Gonzalez – El Samurai


Talk about the luckiest fluke ever!!! I’d like to say that I’ve been painstakingly delving through oceans of sounds to bring you today’s mighty fine treat, but no, this was a complete accident!! A very HAPPY ACCIDENT as the brilliant Bob Ross would say!!!! 

El Samurai was first released by Spanish singer/composer, Pedro Gonzalez, in 1976!!  Put out on the Spanish label, Boa, which was active mainly during the 70’s, this superb funk treasure boasts the most dazzling horn section! Contrasted by the dark and somewhat wonderfully sinister bass line, this song severely ear catching!!! The beat is fresh and the hard-psych-groove a proper winding ear worm! I’m so chuffed with this find!!

El Samurai also appeared on a very enticing compilation entitled, “Atenshion! Refleshion! Spanish Psychedelic Grooves 1967​-​76”.  Issued a few years back on Madrid-based label, Floating Dream, the album offers 14 tracks taken from rare and unknown (until now) Spanish records from the late 60s and early 70s!  Described as being full of “Underground soul, psychedelic funk, dirty fuzz guitars, wah-wah, horns, drum breaks, crazy bongos, Hammond and library grooves,”  I can’t wait to give this a listen!! In fact, that’s what I’m off to do now!! Listen and enjoy!!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Funk, latin world, Soul and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SONG OF THE DAY Pedro Gonzalez – El Samurai

  1. GeneralLeaf says:

    Do you know where I can find information on Pedro Gonzalez. Or where I can find the copyright to the song? I’m trying to make a student film and want to use the song

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello there
    Good question regarding copyright. I’ve just had a really quick look to see if this record was reissued and by the looks of it, this was reissued in 2019 by a Spanish label called Cuero Records. I don’t really know how copyrighting works (or if after a certain amount of years it still applies), but I’d start by contacting the reissue label? I may even ask them myself because it would be good to know the answer to this question. If I find anything out, I’ll reply to you again 🙂

    Like

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.