SONG OF THE DAY Nobody’s Children – Mother’s Tin Moustache


Secondary, 2 of 2It always brings me immeasurable joy when I hear a song for the first time and instantly love it! Sometimes I just know from the moment a song starts that I’m going to like what’s coming next…. and I wasn’t wrong about today’s song when I thought just that!

Mother’s Tin Moustache is one of the most memorable psych tracks I’ve heard in a while and I’m not just talking about its name! This song is blissfully bonkers and very cool for so many reasons; where do I start!?

I love the way the song opens with that pulsing tribal beat, it gets you instantly! Then there’s those bonkers, mad-wacky vocals and super-charged percussive treats! In fact, the whole rhythm section is pretty spectacular. Especially about 50 seconds in when beat drops for the vocals to come in! That, too, is a magic moment! And let’s not forget those insane twangy guitars and the Yardbirds “Lost Woman guitar riff that loops throughout!! It’s quite a song!

Appearing as the B-side, Mother’s Tin Moustache was issued on a small garage rock label from Las Vegas called Deek Records. Released in 1967, Colours and Shapes was sadly the only 45 that Nobody’s Children ever released. Hailing from Las Vegas, the band consisted of Joe Spitale on lead vocals, Charles Perri on drums, Jay Painter on bass, Henry (Enrique) Corro and Greg McKenzie on guitars. 

It’s a tragic thing that the world never got to hear any more of the band’s sonic madness, but both tracks on this 45 have definitely earned a place in my all-time psych favourites! Nobody’s Children didn’t release anything else after this one single and what became of them, I do not know….but if anybody reading this has any information, please do get in touch. In the meantime, I’m pretty sure you will enjoy this!

Primary

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in garage, Garage Rock, Psych rock, psych rock and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to SONG OF THE DAY Nobody’s Children – Mother’s Tin Moustache

  1. Pingback: SONG OF THE DAY Nobody’s Children – Colours And Shapes |

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.