SONG OF THE DAY The Beginning Of The End – When She Made Me Promise


PrimaryI don’t know what it is that I like most about this song, but I do like the way it makes me think of a Ray Manzarek solo (I may be alone in thinking this), but its what I hear!! Any minute now, the Light My Fire riff is going to cut in!!

Aside from that, I just love the freedom that flows through this vibrant melody and just how breezy it feels. It’s like driving along the coast on a hot summers day with the windows open. You just feel free with the air in your hair and the open road ahead.. That’s it, just simple abandon and not a care in the world!..and lets not forget those wonderful big beats!!

Hailing from Nassau, Bahamas, The Beginning of the End were a funk group that formed in 1969. I have featured this band before (albeit five years ago), so instead of repeating myself, I will direct you to my page HERE when you can read more.

Had it not been for their very cool 1970 hit single, Funky NassauThe Beginning of the End would probably have disappeared into obscurity, but with regular plays on movie soundtracks and in dance clubs around the world to this day, the song secured their place in funk history! This song was also the title track from their 1971 debut album, which also included today’s song, When She Made Me Promise, too!

Such is the groove and feel of this track, I guess it came as little surprise to discover that it’s been sampled a few times over the years by various hip hop artists: Dillon & Diamond D sampled it in their 2017 Last Call, Phame used it in her 2011 Nickel Bag and Pete Rock & CL Smooth used it in their 1992 classic, They Reminisce Over You. You would though, wouldn’t you?! This tune is just perfect for sampling!

Check it out above and enjoy!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in breaks beats, Funk, Instrumental, Jazz, Psychedelic, Soul and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.