SONG OF THE DAY Les Baxter – Hot Wind


PrimarySampled by the likes of Eminem and MF Doom, Les Baxter created the whole soundtrack for the 1969 Hell’s Belles film! Though this may not be my favourite Baxter song, I do love the fact that it goes against the grain of his ‘usual’ material and is a far cry from the easy listening/exotica gems he is best know for!

I’ve not actually seen the film itself, but Les Baxter wrote the whole score for this 1969 biker flick, which takes on elements of acid rock, breaking funk rhythms and fuzz guitar! The track, b/w Hogin’ Machine, also saw a revival in 2009 when Hollywood label, Sidewalk, reissued this as a single!

I also really like this track for those heavyweight-beats….you can see why hip hop samplers seek this instrumental groove out! It’s big, its bold and its rhythmically pleasing! Check it out above.

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Funk, Rock, Soundtrack and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SONG OF THE DAY Les Baxter – Hot Wind

  1. SaintQuinn says:

    Not typical Les Baxter but pretty typical for 1969/70 soundtrack music…… I am a Les Baxter fan but I don’t care for this…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s fair enough, you can’t like anything. I had it in a playlist for a couple of weeks before deciding to feature it, so I do know what you mean. I appreciate its relatively generic 1960’s70’s soundtrack music too (it was taken from a soundtrack after all), but it’s not ‘typical’ Baxter, which is why I thought it more interesting. 🙂

    Like

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.