SONG OF THE DAY Ansel Wyatt & His Guitar Combo – The Slave


R-28179475-1693934777-7923I can’t quite recall how or when I first stumbled upon this song, nor why I’ve not featured it yet, but at least I can remedy one of these points…so here its is! Ansel Wyatt & His Guitar Combo: The Slave!

I’ve struggled to find out too much about this artist, but what I can tell you is that he had a great influence on the the sounds emerging from Trinidad and Tobago in the 1960’s. Inspired by the likes of the Ventures, The Shadows, Booker T and the MGs, a new movement known as “combo mania” was emerging in the Caribbean and  Ansel Wyatt was pioneering this combo music craze!

Hailing from Vistabella, Ansel was a guitar prodigy who played with the then popular Norman “Tex” Williams dance band as a teenager. This combo featured Ansel Wyatt on lead guitar and Steve Khan on rhythm guitar. Together they released one album and a handful of 45’s in the early 1960’s!

The Slave was one of their earliest offerings and came into this world via a West Indian label called Telco in 1963. Such is its rarity, I can’t even find evidence of one of these records materialising for sale (ever), let alone being for sale now. This 45 has never been reissued and this seems to be the case for most of their records! Thank goodness today’s song made it to places like Youtube!

So, without further ado, I shall leave you in the wistful clutches of Ansel Wyatt & His Guitar Combo as they share with you the song of The Slave. Enjoy….and just one more thing. If you want to read more, I’ve found an interesting article about the band, here.

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Caribbean rhythm, Carribean, Instrumental, World and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.