SONG OF THE DAY The Ironsides – The Web


I guess me saying that I love this song because of its epic-ness is like saying I love the sky because its blue, but the size of this sonic beast is striking! Big, bold and doused in about as much elegance any piece of could muster! The brass section alone is golden!!

Inspired by the soundtracks and library music of European composers of the 60’s and 70’s, The Ironsides create a sound designed to “evoke a range of feelings, emotions and memories”. Consisting of a group of San Francisco Bay area musicians, this band love nothing more than to re-create the classic and dramatic cinematic sounds of 60’s soundtrack’s.

Though their releases have been sporadic over the last decade, their first single was recorded in 2013 – which, like all of their releases, has been by the trusty, expert hands of the great Colemine Records! Speaking of their sound the band described how, “we started the band to write music that evokes cinematic landscapes”. This sound is in their blood too, for band members, The Ramey brothers (who, together with Jamie Payne, constitute the main nucleus of the group) trace their heritage to Liguria, Italy – the birthplace of their maternal grandfather.

The Web is taken from last years debut album, Changing Light, which I am currently working my way though! So far, it’s been a delight to absorb, one that I can recommend (I’ve pasted it below). Authentic and rich, this body of work is a treat to the senses, especially if they need a little massaging! Wonderfully constructed, I love how the rhythm section shapes the mood with its snare drum flutters and crisp cymbal patterings. This is a really nice feeling record which I can wholly recommend you check out below! Enjoy!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in cinematic, Instrumental, Library music, R & B, Soul, Soundtrack and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.