SONG OF THE DAY Twilight Stringers – The Stranger


R-22787594-1690538796-6405I heard this song a while ago and found it again today! I kept trying to think of what it reminded me of and then, bingo, I remembered! This track really reminds me of Chet Atkins’ Windy and Warm (which I’ve included a live version of at the bottom of this post!).

I haven’t had much success trying to find out anything about the group behind today’s song, but what I can tell you is that they were called the Twilight Stringers and released just two 45’s in the early 1960’s. Such is the rarity of their second single, Pale Face Twist/Teenage Blues, I can’t even find a recording of it anywhere online! As far as I can tell, there aren’t any for sale either and Discogs has never seen a copy on their database, even though the single is registered!! Fortunately, their first single is ‘out there’ for the taking (thanks to those who have uploaded both tracks onto Youtube).

The Stranger was the b-side to the groups first single, Cherokee Twist . which was issued on a 1960’s label called Vale Records. Incidentally, this label was set up purely for The Stringers! The exact release date isn’t logged, but if their second single came out in 1962, I think its fair to gather that this record wasn’t too far off that date? Both singles are credited to T. Bridges, M. Branam and H. Williams, but there nothing further than this documented – If anyone has anymore info, please get in touch! I’d love to hear what their other single sounds like too, so if this post reaches out and grabs the attention of someone who owns it (a very long shot, I know), please make contact?

The Stranger is a such a charm and though the title could allude to an array of meanings, it’s melody gives it a romantic and mysterious feel, so this is the kind of enticing stranger you don’t mind running into!?

Now, as promised, I am also including a fantastic song by Chet Atkins (which I was sure I’d featured, but it appears I haven’t). Windy and Warm was released about the same time as The Stranger, so who knows, maybe it did inspire the Twilight Stringers? Or maybe its just a coincidence and the way the melodies criss-cross in places just made me of Chet?

Either way, both songs are a delight and I am rather chuffed that I can feature two for the price of one in today’s post!! Enjoy!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Instrumental, Surf and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.