SONG OF THE DAY The Point – Leaving


Any music I come across, albeit it old or new, if I like it, I love nothing more than to promote and share… Today’s song is something I heard just before I went away and it got into my head, so I saved it to revisit upon my return and here it is!…. I know nothing about the band/artists behind this song, but am making myself familiar as I type.

Leaving has something really friendly about it and it feels like one of those songs you just know you want to be friends with. It gives you the same kind of feeling that you get when you meet someone and you just click with them. It’s easy, familiar and it makes you feel welcome!

Playing together for a few years now (almost five, I think), The Point are a duo (trio?) of multi-instrumentalist/producers from Austin, Texas. Starting out whilst still at high school, Joe Roddy (trumpet/keys/guitar/vocals) and Jack Montesinos (upright & electric bass/vocals/percussion) play pretty much every instrument you hear in their songs! Both are also responsible for the production of their creations too, so it’s really nice to stumble upon a proper DIY outfit that create every aspect of their sound!

Inspired by their southern roots, the pair have been known to dabble in a variation genres, covering anything from jazz fusion to hip hop, soul to garage/psych, and country right through to polka! They have opened up for an array of artists including the likes of Jimmie Vaughan, Kamasi Washington, Gary Clark, Jr. and Barbara Lynn!

More recently, they have released a new track – today’s track – Leaving! I love the shimmering groove of the keyboard melody, the swirl of the (Ethio-jazz) guitar and the way the vocal line just weaves its ear worm-magic right from the onset. Leaving is one of those songs that you can’t help but find attractive and pleasant – and I say pleasant because this song is such a wonderfully unassuming delight!

See what you think and check it out above and if you fancy purchasing a copy of this song, you can find that on The Point’s Bandcamp page here. Also, if you would also like to investigate more of their releases, you can find them all here too. Enjoy!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Alternative, Ethiopia, Funk, garage, Psychedelic, Soul and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.