SONG OF THE DAY Nick Waterhouse – I Cry


Last week R&B groover, Nick Waterhouse released a new 7″ single from his third album, Never Twice.

Pressed on limited vinyl pressings, the A-side is called L.A. Turnaround, (which features on last year’s album), with the B-side a new recording and previously unreleased duet titled, I Try.

Beaming with bright swinging beats, soul-jazz embellishments and an ever-authentic sound, I Cry has an interesting history (as Nick Waterhouse reported in an interview with the Brooklyn Vegan):

“’I Cry’, was a long-lost unreleased tune written for Dean & Jean. I first heard courtesy of Dick Vivian’s (Rooky’s Records San Francisco) legendary 1980s mix tapes. It fit right in with the oeuvre of the “Never Twice” sessions so I cut it with my long-suffering and highly talented tour backup vocalist Brit Manor taking the lead line and me trying my hand at the cool Everly style harmony. Ron Dziubla rips a tenor solo on this to rival the original.”

Check it out above and order your copy of this new single from here. 

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Innovative leisure, LA, R&B, Soul and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.