SONG OF THE DAY Timber Timbre – Under Your Spell


R-3314481-1325351210.jpegTimber Timbre’s music has been described as  “beautifully restrained blues from an alternate universe”, and when trying to describe their swampy, ragged sound, I couldn’t have put it better myself!

Fronted by Taylor Kirk, this four-piece have been spinning their atmospheric, spooky and wonderfully cinematic sounds ever since 2005; naming themselves after an early series of recordings they made in a timber-framed cabin set in the wooded outskirts of Bobcaygeon, Ontario. As far as I know they are still going, though no albums have been issued since 2017…more’s the pity!

Spinning a dreamy web & filling it with rich, evocative lyrics, Under Your Spell is an enchanting, stripped-back & warmly curious invocation taken from the band’s 2007 album, Medicinals. It’s also one of my favourite Timber Timbre tracks!

Check it out above and find the lyrics below.

One night the leaves shook the house
And through a talkin’ snout
Breathin’ out the ears
Adam’s apple in my mouth
The sun was setting in the east
A bad moon risin’ in the south
Black rain underfoot
Fallin’ up from underground

I must be under your spell
I’m under your spell
I must be under your spell tonight
Oh, in case you can’t tell
I am not feeling very well
‘Cause I am under your spell
I’m under it, I’m under it

Through the woods up the creek
The cackling, a shriek
The cauldron fire crackled loud
Over clickin’ hooves and feet
Did the sky open up?
Did every season meet?
Was it cold, dead winter?
Was it blazin’ summer heat?
I must be under your spell
I’m under your spell
I must be under your spell tonight
But in case you can’t tell
I am not feeling very well
‘Cause I am under your spell
‘Cause I am under it, I’m under it

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Alternative, Indie Rock, Rock, swamp blues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.