SONG OF THE DAY Clutchy Hopkins – Sound of the Ghost


There has been much speculation on who exactly is behind the elusive project that is Clutchy Hopkins, but this name has been creating music for nearly two decades!

Clutchy Hopkins is purportedly a multi-instrumentalist musician based out of California. His existence has not yet been fully verified, though he is widely believed to be a pseudonym for one of several popular DJs. The true identity of the person (or people) behind the music is not publicly known.

I’m even more in the dark as I’ve only just caught up with this artist/artists, so all of repertoire, which includes 7 or so albums, is completely new to me! This discovery was another happy accident and one thing’s for certain, this jazzy, psych-funk, hip-hop fusion of big beats and instrumental delights is an alluring and intriguing listen!!!

So far I’ve only worked my way through half an album, having discovered today’s song earlier this evening…but I know I like this and could safely wager that I’m going to like all the rest! It’s just easy to get into, the beats are engaging, the instruments are varied and all very flavoursome and the concept is fresh and unique..I’m having no trouble finding praise for this!

Sound of the Ghost is a rhythmic delilght taken from the band’s Walking Backwards album (or Sdrawkcab as I’ve seen it written), which was released in 2008 on Ubiquity Records. It’s dark, ominous and I love the juicy fat beats!! Check it out above and if you want to hear more Clutchy goodness, you can find that here. 

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in downtempo, Electronic, Funk, hip hop, Instrumental, Jazz, jazz hip hop, ubiquity records and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.