SONG OF THE DAY Erni Clark – By The Grace Of God, Am I


R-8550754-1609104024-9095Such is the rarity of today’s track that it’s currently fetching nearly £1000 for a copy online and, it would seem, information on the band behind this little lost gem is just as scarce! The copy I’ve uploaded is a little bit crackly, but this doesn’t detract from the lashings of smoothness this funky little instrumental gives off!!

Issued on a Dallas, Texas record label called M-Odd Records (and what a great label it is too), By The Grace Of God, Am I is the B-side to a soul 45 released in 1971. By far the superior track of the two (its flipside is far too soul’y for me), this was the only single cut by an artist called Erni Clark. I wish I could tell you more about Erni Clark, but I’ve had no joy researching this artist unfortunately..but what I can tell you is that this is definitely worth a listen, I hope you enjoy!

What I can also do is point you in the direction of London’s Jazzman Records, who kindly reissued and released this a few days ago! No longer will you have to save hundreds of pounds to get a copy of this! For just £2, these two tracks can be yours!! Thanks Jazzman!! Find that here 

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Funk, Soul and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.