SONG OF THE DAY The Explosions – Jocky Ride (Part 1)


PrimaryWhen I first caught today’s track, it was the instrumental part that I heard first, the bit where that cool melody sounds like its being played by a steel guitar at some kind of warped speed (if you get what I mean?…it almost sounds a bit country!). The other part of the song comes in and it sounds like a completely different track, but all of this intrigued me enough to listen to it some more..so I did and here I am!

This funky little tune was released in 1970 on a label called Gold Cup – and it looks like they only put out 45’s by the Explosions?? Which brings me to the group behind this song! The Explosions! They were a female soul group form New Orleans, Louisiana and other than this, I can’t tell you much more! Once again, I have struggled to locate any further details. The same year that the band issued this track, they also put out one more 45, with a few to follow in the 2000’s, but I think these may be reissues? There is also a song called Chained, which The Explosions recorded with an artist called Percy Stone, but this was apparently withdrawn before its release and never saw commercial release?

I’d love to know more about The Explosions, so if anyone can help me out, please get in touch? Until then, I hope you enjoy today’s offering!…Oh yes, and one more thing; Jocky Ride also featured on an interesting compilation by New York’s Tuff City Records a year ago. A Furred Fistful O’ Funky Delicacies is worth investigating if you fancy some more funk and groove?!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Funk, Soul and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SONG OF THE DAY The Explosions – Jocky Ride (Part 1)

  1. Ricky Worth says:

    The Explosions were a vocal group, but the key to all of their records is the great Eddie Bo.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you! I need to check some Eddie Bo out now!! In fact, I’m going to do that right now! 🙂

    Like

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.