SONG OF THE DAY Jonathan Wilson – Woe Is Me


PrimaryWoe Is Me...what a curious little journey this is. Vocals dripping in enough dreaminess to float you to the moon and quirky dynamics that keep you guessing with their psych-tinged melodies and folksy wanderings.

I thought at first it may be a bit disjointed, but the more I listen, the more I appreciate that there are six flavoursome minutes in which we can gradually soak up these altering tempos and alternating textures. I like!! Woe Is Me fuses the mysterious and the ethereal with heady guitars in what is a hypnotic, rhythmic dirge. The two worlds entwine without a blink and its easy to marvel at this seamless transition. 

This song appears on Jonathan Wilson’s 2011 record, Gentle Spirit which, I must say, is a grand little album if you’ve not heard it? Released on Bella Union, this was his third offering since he emerged in 2005! I hope you enjoy! I’ve also got some more Jonathan Wilson goodness on my pages here if you fancy hearing more? Lyrics below:

Woe is me
Woe is me
Flown down the river swimming in deep blue see
I’ve flown down the river swimming in deep blue see
Woe is me
Took a while but I’ve finally found that
I’m on my own see
Woe is me
Woe is me
Woe is me
And I don’t like to find what a man is got to be
Now I don’t like to find what a man is got to be
Woe is me
Took a while but I’ve finally found that
I’m on my own see
Woe is me
Woe is me
Woe is me
Yeah I know it’s a sin but a villa dreamed where I am
I know it’s a sin but a villa dreamed where I am
Woe is me
Took a while but I’ve finally found that
I’m on my own see
Woe is me, woe is me, woe is me

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Folk, Indie, Indie Folk, Indie Rock, Psychedelic rock and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.