SONG OF THE DAY Glass Beams – Mirage


“The enigmatic Melbourne (Naarm) based Glass Beams radiate a psychedelia rendered with cyclical riffs and dizzying melodies…..”

In 2020 Australia’s newcomers, Glass Beams recorded their first 4-track release entitled Mirage.

Issued on Melbourne, Australia’s indie label, Research Records, the release boasts some pretty hypnotic sonic adventures. To accompany the issue of the record, Glass Bead explained how,

“I was looking for new energy & inspiration to write a bunch of new music. I recalled a childhood memory of my parents and I watching a DVD they had bought: ‘Concert For George’ (a tribute concert for George Harrison from the Beatles). George’s long time collaborator and friend Ravi Shanka put an Indian Orchestra together for that concert, and even though I hadn’t even started playing music at the time that I watched this, the sounds really stuck with me,

My father was born in India and moved here when he was 17, and after recalling this memory I decided to look up musicians from my father’s hometown and surrounding areas. I found a wealth of Indian classical, disco and pop music that formed the building blocks for this record. As soon as I had that vision of what I wanted to write and why I wanted to write it, the songs just flowed out really.”

Title track Mirage opens the album with attractive intrigue, inviting you in with its promise of heady mystery. To accompany the release, Research Records added a wonderful description of the track which I have pasted below, for its does describe so well what awaits when you press play….

Mirage arrives with a coiling vocal mantra that conspires with a sliding bassline and transcendent synthwork, reminiscent of early 70’s prog jams yet inverted and futuristic…”

I like their sound and may have to investigate whether or not this outfit are still together and if, indeed, there is more to come? In the meantime enjoy today’s offering and if you fancy listening to/purchasing the rest of the album, you can find this below… I’ve also included (WELL-WORTH a watch) a live performance of Mirage! Enjoy this cosmic moment!!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Disco, Instrumental, Jazz, Melbourne, Psychedelic, World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to SONG OF THE DAY Glass Beams – Mirage

  1. Pingback: SONG OF THE DAY Glass Beams – Mahal |

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.