SONG OF THE DAY Barbara Lynn – Ring Telephone Ring


R-8069738-1573053724-8739Sometimes the most subtle things in a song can resonate and make soooo much difference! Barbara Lynn’s Ring Telephone Ring did exactly that to me and for these gorgeous delicate chord changes and exploding vocals, I am grateful!

Ring Telephone Ring starts out in a mid-tempo, straight-soul style, but soon unravels into a bounty of delicious vocals, led by Lynn’s anguished and emotive cries. That change in tune and tempo just before the burst of voices really sends shivers and it’s hard to get out of your head.

Issued in 1967 on Atlantic Records, today’s song was the b-side to Barbara Lynn’s This Is The Thanks I Get, As is often the case, the B-side is I do much prefer this track!..it’s definitely on a par with I’m A Good Woman. 

Enjoy..

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Funk, Soul and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.