SONG OF THE DAY Billy Fury – Don’t Jump


PrimaryI have a LOT of time for this man! Billy Fury has written some absolute beauties and I really do love the magic effect that some of his tunes have on me! Today’s song being one of those songs!! Fury’s Tune being another!!..but, of course there are many more!

I’m guessing that this song never made air play and possibly never featured on certain radio stations because of the content? A lot of music with even the remotest element of risk were banned at the time, especially if it hinted upon teenage death or suicide? Take Jody Reynolds’ Endless Sleep for another example!

Still, Don’t Jump seems to have been issued twice in the year of 1962. The first time on an EP, Billy Fury No. 2, and then again as a single, which was released on London Records with I’d Never Find Another You on the B-side. How could two songs be more contrasting?! Don’t Jump being the dark assailant to its far brighter flipside..and by far the stronger of the two songs!!

Penned by Fury, Don’t Jump is definitely one of my all-time favourites from him! I love how the song traces the story of a desperate soul perched on a cliff edge, ready to jump, the thought of lost love becoming too much to bear. Backing vocals cry out “Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump/No woman’s worth the trouble/You can always find another”, but their pleas seem almost fruitless as he tormented replies exclaim, I don’t believe you brother wow, wow. The cool little twist to this story comes right at the end when these voices finally get through and we discover that the victim has talked himself out of his demise as closing lyrics affirm, Thank you Billy/I feel alright right now/Don’t jump Billy/Aint gonna jump right now/No woman’s worth the trouble/Tell me why, why, why/You can always find another/That’s the way brother….

What a song!!! I love love love this!!! Check it out above and find the lyrics below.

First release by Billy Fury (January 19, 1962)

I was standing on the edge of the cliff top high above
I was looking right down below
I was thinking all about the women I had
About the women that I love so
But it’s a long, long way to fall
And then I heard a soft voice call

(BIILY, BILLY)

Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah
Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
Wow, wow, wow, wow
Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah
Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
No woman’s worth the trouble
Tell me why, why, why
You can always find another
I don’t believe you brother wow, wow
Wow Billy wow, wow Billy boy wow

As the sea rushes in upon the rugged rocks
It’s a long long way to fall
Then I’m gonna bet I wanna bet I will and I wont
Cause it a long long way to fall

Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah
Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
I wanna die
Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
Don’t wanna cry
Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
No woman’s worth the trouble
Tell me why, why, why
You can always find another
I don’t believe you brother wow, wow
Wow Billy wow, wow Billy boy wow

I guess ill sit here a while and think about the time that girl was mine and we were gonna be so happy
Then her parents stood in and said that I was small time
And that’s a long long way to fall

Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
Wow, wow, wow, wow
Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
Oh keepa talking
Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
Mmmm you’re getting through now
Don’t jump Billy boy don’t jump
No woman’s worth the trouble
Tell me why, why, why
You can always find another
I believe ya brother wow, wow

Thank you Billy
I feel alright right now
Don’t jump Billy
Aint gonna jump right now
No woman’s worth the trouble
Tell me why, why, why
You can always find another
That’s the way brother

Wow Billy
So long goodbye right now
Goodbye Billy
Goodbye so long now

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Pop, Rock and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.