SONG OF THE DAY Penza Penza – Colour My Coffee


It took me a few moments to realise where I recognised the name Misha Panfilov from, but then it clicked! It was this artist that collaborated on the gorgeous Gloria Ann Taylor release that I featured a while back – find that here. 

Also now operating under the psych/funk/jazz outfit that is Penza Penza, Misha Panifilov is an Estonian composer. producer and multi-instrumentalist who has been releasing for nearly a decade now – under various names, that is!

Working from Portugal these days, this innovative artist has recently issued a new collection of songs on a record called Electricolorized. Playing it through as I type, I really like the freedom of this album and the fact it allows you do dip in an out without losing the tread of where this is going. Taking its time, the music is a bountiful meandering of groove, style and rhythm. Sometimes hypnotic and always an intriguing mix of sounds and textures, I like its free-flowing energy and improvised feel this music has about it. I could quite easily lose myself here!

Colour My Coffee was the song that brought me to Electricolorized, so I’m more than happy to be sharing both this song and, indeed, the whole album (see below). This super-funky offering is an instrumental delight, packed with cosmic melodies and a swell of heady grooves. What more do I need to say? Enjoy!!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Experimental, Funk, Instrumental, Jazz, Lo fi, Psychedelic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.