SONG OF THE DAY Band Nada Kentjana – Djaleuleudja


PrimaryYou may recall the other day (last Sunday, in fact) that I featured a rather lovely song from a compilation album entitled Padang Moonrise: The Birth of the Modern Indonesian Recording Industry (1955​-​69). Beautifully constructed by UK’s Soundway Records and released last year, this collection features an epic line-up of folk/jazz/world songs from (yes, you guessed it) Indonesia in the 1950’s-1960’s. It’s a truly great collection of gorgeous ear-beasts!

Djaleuleudja features on this record and was performed by a group called Band Nada Kentjana, who were active in the early 1960’s. Issuing three 10″ albums and a couple of singles (I believe), their albums are relatively hard to find and well-sought after! Take Jaomal Kiamat for example (the record from which today’s song can be found), this LP is currently fetching over £100, with only one copy available online (from my brief search). Their 1962 debut album, Euis, is a little more in my budget, going for about £40 currently!!

 Djaleuleudja is a dear little track that I find most pleasing and really comforting. I love those combined vocal harmonies and zany sound effects that glisten in the background. I press play and it feels like I’ve got a friend in the room…a rather random way to explain it, but this is how it makes me feel..

Check it ot above and if you fancy hearing the Soundway compilation (a very big LP Post recommend), you can listen to this below!

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Folk, Jazz, Psych-world, Reissue, Soundway Records, World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.