SONG OF THE DAY Joyce Heath – I Wouldn’t Dream Of It


45cat - Joyce Heath - I Wouldn't Dream Of It / I Can't Say The Same About  You - Dragon - USA - 415There is nothing better than a haunted love song and today’s tender country ballad really grips at the heartstrings as it tackles the woes of missed chances and failed opportunities. The vocals are so rich, sending out these warm textures that are so easy to absorb; this is a little gem!

I Wouldn’t Dream of It was a hit for Joyce Heath and The Irv Spice Orchestra when it was released on Dragon Records in 1961.  Also recording under the name Joyce Heath and the Privateers (The Privateers were also known as The Tremonts), Heath put out a small selection of offerings in the late 50’s/early 60’s via her husband Vincent Gagliano’s New York label – Dragon Records.  Details on this artist are thin on the ground, as is the case with many of these small releases, but if you are lucky enough to own a copy of this single on the yellow Dragon label you could expect to get over £50 if you were to part with it! Not that I would! Check it out above  and I’ve found some lyrics for the track which I’ve included below.

He asked me if he could hold my hand
And I shyly said, “I wouldn’t dream of it”
But then I felt his hand touch mine
Now I dream of it, how I dream of it all the time
All the time (All the time)
He asked me then could
He kiss my lips
And I playfully said, “I wouldn’t dream of it”
But then I felt his lips touch mine
Now I dream of it, how I dream of it all the time
All the time (All the time)
I felt him ever so warm and near
Whispering promises in my ear
He said he’d always be true to me
To love him and I’d see
I felt my world spinning round and round
Around the wonderful love I’d found
I heard my heart whisper, “Why resist?”
He held me and we kissed
He held me and we kissed
He asked me then would I marry him
And I foolishly said, “l wouldn’t dream of it”
And now that our love is cold as stone
I dream of it, but I dream of it all alone
All alone (All alone)

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Country, Folk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.