SONG OF THE DAY Alemayehu Eshete – Telantena Zare


Nicknamed the “Ethiopian Elvis”, Alemayehu Eshete is considered by many to be the golden voice of Ethopia, and once you hear him sing, you’ll know why he has gained such a title! Take today’s song for example, those expressive vocals brings me sunshine every time and I’ve never had a day when this track doesn’t pick me up. Alemayehu Eshete’s music gets into the head and nourishes the heart as it passes though.

Alemayehu Eshete, an Ethiopian jazz singer who has been performing since the early 1960’s.  Ever since his first hit single, Seul, in 1961 he has become the father figure of the soulful stream of Ethiopian sounds, possibly second only to Mulatu for his appeal to funk and soul fans in the 21st century! No other musician in Ethiopia adapted the newest trends from the US soul scene as consequently as Alemayehu did!

I’ve featured him a few times before in this blog and am always happy to share his music – In fact, I was convinced that I had shared Telantena Zare before, but it would appear that I haven’t!…so here it is!!!

Originally released on 7” on Amha Records in 1974, Telantena Zare has also made an appearance on the Ethipiques Collections various times, as well as being issued as a single by Mr Bongo! I hope you like!?

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Ethio-Jazz, Ethiopia, Ethiopia Jazz, Ethiopian jazz, Funk, Jazz, World and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.