SONG OF THE DAY The Cosmic Rays With Sun Ra And Arkestra – Dreaming


It’s only been just over a week since I posted a song, but it feels like a lot longer!! Man, I’ve missed sharing music on here!!

What I have for you today is a sugarplum-sweet little doo wop number from 1955! Released on Chicago label, Saturn Records, Dreaming is about as celestially dreamy as it gets! Recorded by a vocal group called The Cosmic Rays, the record also featured the mighty jazz maverick, Sun Ra and his Arkestra – who also mentored the group! The Cosmic Rays consisted of four members from the West Side of Chicago and the band got together in the late 50’s I believe.

What I love about this lulling record is its sunshiny innocence and vocal harmonising – I never realised Sun Ra made music like this! Check it out above.

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Doo-wop, Funk, R&B, Soul and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.