SONG OF THE DAY Artie Shaw – Gloomy Sunday


R-22043095-1644108357-1751There is something so exquisite and delicious about this song and, indeed, this whole era of music! Though the story behind this is quite interesting and when Billie Holliday covered it in 1947 it was actually banned by the BBC as it was deemed detrimental to wartime morale – though instrumental versions were still permitted and the BBC’s ban was lifted some years later in 2002!!

Gloomy Sunday (Hungarian: Szomorú vasárnap), which has also been known as the “Hungarian Suicide song”, was a popular song composed by the Hungarian pianist and composer Rezső Seress.

First published in 1933, it has been covered many times over the years, with the original lyrics being titled, “Vége a világnak” (The world is ending). Later on, poet László Jávor wrote his own lyrics to the song, titled Szomorú vasárnap (Sad Sunday), in which the the central figure wants to commit suicide following his lover’s death.  The latter lyrics ended up becoming more popular while the former were essentially forgotten. The song was first recorded in Hungarian by pop singer Pál Kalmár in 1935. A year later English artist Hal Kemp recorded his version, with lyrics by Sam M. Lewis, and that same year (1936) Paul Robeson laid down a version (with lyrics by Desmond Carter.)

The song became well-known throughout much of the English-speaking world after the release of a version by jazz and swing music singer Billie Holiday in 1941. Sam M. Lewis’s lyrics referred to suicide, and the record label described it as the “Hungarian Suicide Song”. Interestingly, there is a recurring urban legend which claims that many people have committed suicide whilst listening to the song – particularly Hungarians! Though, for the most part, there have never been any studies to prove a clear link between the song and suicide!

The version I am featuring today, however, is one recorded by the wonderful Artie Shaw and His Orchestra. I’m only just discovering the wonder of Artis Shaw”s big band, but I’m loving everything I’ve heard. Artie Shaw’s version was issued on the Victor label in 1940 and was actually the B-side to his Don’t Fall Asleep 10″(another wonderful song!) – those lovely vocals are supplied by US singer, Pauline Byrne!

This is my favourite ever rendition of this song and I love its slow, sinuous start and how the vocals wait a good minute before they come in, which just adds to the atmosphere and haunting feel of the song!! Check it out above and see the lyrics (Sam M. Lewis’s lyrics) below.

Sunday is gloomy,
My hours are slumberless
Dearest the shadows
I live with are numberless
Little white flowers
Will never awaken you
Not where the black coach of
Sorrow has taken you
Angels have no thought
Of ever returning you,
Would they be angry
If I thought of joining you?

Gloomy Sunday

Gloomy is Sunday,
With shadows I spend it all
My heart and I
Have decided to end it all
Soon there’ll be candles
And prayers that are sad I know
Let them not weep
Let them know that I’m glad to go
Death is no dream
For in death I’m caressing you
With the last breath of my soul
I’ll be blessing you

Gloomy Sunday

Some English versions add the following verse:

Dreaming, I was only dreaming
I wake and I find you asleep
In the deep of my heart, dear
Darling I hope
That my dream never haunted you
My heart is tellin’ you
How much I wanted you

About The Listening Post Blog

The Listening Post Blog - A place to discover new sounds, where the music speaks for itself..
This entry was posted in Big Band, Jazz, swing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to SONG OF THE DAY Artie Shaw – Gloomy Sunday

  1. Pingback: SONG OF THE DAY Artie Shaw – Nightmare |

Let me know your thoughts, leave comments here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.